NLGP Annual Meeting on January 6

The New London Green Party will hold its annual meeting on Sunday, January 6, 7:00pm, at 19 Evergreen Avenue, New London.

In addition to regular business, we will elect town committee representatives from the East New London, Hempstead, South of Bank, and South End neighborhoods, an at-large and an alternate member, and fill any off icer vacancies. If you are a registered Green in New London and interested in serving in any capacity, let us know. The purpose of our town committee is to recruit and nominate candidates for municipal office.

As is our custom, a potluck suppoer precedes the meeting at 6:30pm.

All are welcome – Green Party members, supporters, alllies, and anyone who'd like to learn more about the New London Greens.

2018 Green Party election results

Green Party candidates ran for several positions in the 2018 elections; the following candidates, who all appeared on our local ballots, received at least 1% of the vote to retain ballot access:

Tolland resident Michelle Louise Bicking, who was nominated to run for the 2nd Congressional District seat against incumbent Representative Joe Courtney, received 1.24% of the districts' votes in a 4-way race, and 2.52% in New London.

Attorney General candidate Peter Goselin received 1.05% of the vote overall, and 2.55% in New London; his 15,000 votes received statewide assured our continued minor party recognition in Connecticut.

On the local front, the New London Greens endorsed incumbent Representative Chris Soto in the 39th district, CT Assembly; he received 6% of his votes on the Green line.

Results for other statewide candidates: Mike DeRosa for Secretary of the State (.91% overall, 2.01% in New London), Ed Heflin for Comptroller (.76% overall, 2.02% in New London), and Jeff Russell for US Senate (.48% overall, 1.22% in New London).

Mirna Martínez elected BOE President

Congratulations to Mirna Martínez, who was elected President of the New London Board of Education at its swearing-in and organizational meeting on December 4, 2017. Other officers are Manuel Rivera, Vice President, and Regina Mosley, Secretary, both Democrats.

For the first time in New London's history, a Green Party member was chosen as board president. In addition to officers Rivera and Mosley, Democrats Jefferey Hart, Rebecca Amanti, and Jason Catala, as well as Republican Susan Tierney, serve on the current board.

Board of Education meetings will be held on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month. The public is welcome to attend!